NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month)

When my poetry blog was still active, I participated in NaPoWriMo every year for 4 years.

My blog in general was a project I started with the intention of writing poetry every day for one year, then I did it again the second year, and the third, and kind of for the fourth. That’s when I knew it was time to take a break and try something new.

Spontaneously, last night (err… 3AM), I wrote a poem. It’s been probably 6 months or more since I’ve written a poem. I thought it odd but in general I try not to doubt my inspirational instincts so I went along with it. In another group today, someone mentioned NaPoWriMo and I realized immediately why I’d written a poem last night.

Because it’s April, and I’m already behind!  I think this year I’ll worry less about a poem every day and more about working on poetry every day, even if it’s the same poem. I mean, I am participating in another, arguably massive, writing challenge as it is.

The website is apparently unofficial, but it’s a great start, and seeing as I’ve never seen an official site for NaPoWriMo, it’s just nice to see somewhere that people can gather.

I hope some of you consider participating.

Leave a Reply

